The Long Wait

It was Mom’s birthday on Sunday, May 12th and I was thinking about her again. Her birthday often came on May 12 or soon after or before. At least our family celebrated her birthday with Mother’s day. Mom has been gone several years now but I was thinking about the time she was on hospice care and I thought it might be good to tell you about that time.

I was sitting by Mom’s bedside, just waiting I guess, not sure just what I was waiting for. She had been sleeping for nearly three days. The hospice nurse told me that she might not wake up at all.

Mom was 100 years old and she really wanted to, as she said many times, “Go home to Jesus”. I wanted that for her too. At least I thought so at the time. She was very frail and she suffered with so much pain. She had lived at a nursing home very near our home ever since she broke her hip a couple of years earlier. I spent an hour in the morning and two hours in the afternoon each day with her, but somehow it was never enough. She wanted me to be with her all the time and she cried whenever I left.

When her doctor wanted her to be put on hospice care, my husband, Frank, and I decided to bring her back to our home. She had lived with us prior to going to the nursing home.

At first Mom was very happy to be home. She wanted to get up in her wheelchair and watch my daughter, Bobbe. sew drapes for her living room. She ate pretty good, especially when I brought her toast and coffee. But then she began to go to sleep for hours at the time so I often sat by her bed, just waiting.

Then one day she opened her beautiful blue eyes and looked right at me. “I love you, Yvonne,” she said. I had never heard her say that, never in my whole life! I knew then what I had been waiting for and I cried.

It was a couple of days later, whileI was singing close to her ear, the old Gospel hymn, “I Need Thee Every Hour” that Mom went home to Jesus. I left her room to go tell my family that she had gone. I thought I will always tell my children how very much I love them.

Oh people, tell your family that you love them and tell them that God loves them too. They won’t forget it.THE LONG WAIT

It was Mom’s birthday on Sunday, May 12th and I was thinking about her again. Her birthday often came on May 12 or soon after or before. At least our family celebrated her birthday with Mother’s day. Mom has been gone several years now but I was thinking about the time she was on hospice care and I thought it might be good to tell you about that time.

I was sitting by Mom’s bedside, just waiting I guess, not sure just what I was waiting for. She had been sleeping for nearly three days. The hospice nurse told me that she might not wake up at all.

Mom was 100 years old and she really wanted to, as she said many times, “Go home to Jesus”. I wanted that for her too. At least I thought so at the time. She was very frail and she suffered with so much pain. She had lived at a nursing home very near our home ever since she broke her hip a couple of years earlier. I spent an hour in the morning and two hours in the afternoon each day with her, but somehow it was never enough. She wanted me to be with her all the time and she cried whenever I left.

When her doctor wanted her to be put on hospice care, my husband, Frank, and I decided to bring her back to our home. She had lived with us prior to going to the nursing home.

At first Mom was very happy to be home. She wanted to get up in her wheelchair and watch my daughter, Bobbe. sew drapes for her living room. She ate pretty good, especially when I brought her toast and coffee. But then she began to go to sleep for hours at the time so I often sat by her bed, just waiting.

Then one day she opened her beautiful blue eyes and looked right at me. “I love you, Yvonne,” she said. I had never heard her say that, never in my whole life! I knew then what I had been waiting for and I cried.

It was a couple of days later, whileI was singing close to her ear, the old Gospel hymn, “I Need Thee Every Hour” that Mom went home to Jesus. I left her room to go tell my family that she had gone. I thought I will always tell my children how very much I love them.

Oh people, tell your family that you love them and tell them that God loves them too. They won’t forget it.THE LONG WAIT

It was Mom’s birthday on Sunday, May 12th and I was thinking about her again. Her birthday often came on May 12 or soon after or before. At least our family celebrated her birthday with Mother’s day. Mom has been gone several years now but I was thinking about the time she was on hospice care and I thought it might be good to tell you about that time.

I was sitting by Mom’s bedside, just waiting I guess, not sure just what I was waiting for. She had been sleeping for nearly three days. The hospice nurse told me that she might not wake up at all.

Mom was 100 years old and she really wanted to, as she said many times, “Go home to Jesus”. I wanted that for her too. At least I thought so at the time. She was very frail and she suffered with so much pain. She had lived at a nursing home very near our home ever since she broke her hip a couple of years earlier. I spent an hour in the morning and two hours in the afternoon each day with her, but somehow it was never enough. She wanted me to be with her all the time and she cried whenever I left.

When her doctor wanted her to be put on hospice care, my husband, Frank, and I decided to bring her back to our home. She had lived with us prior to going to the nursing home.

At first Mom was very happy to be home. She wanted to get up in her wheelchair and watch my daughter, Bobbe. sew drapes for her living room. She ate pretty good, especially when I brought her toast and coffee. But then she began to go to sleep for hours at the time so I often sat by her bed, just waiting.

Then one day she opened her beautiful blue eyes and looked right at me. “I love you, Yvonne,” she said. I had never heard her say that, never in my whole life! I knew then what I had been waiting for and I cried.

It was a couple of days later, whileI was singing close to her ear, the old Gospel hymn, “I Need Thee Every Hour” that Mom went home to Jesus. I left her room to go tell my family that she had gone. I thought I will always tell my children how very much I love them.

Oh people, tell your family that you love them and tell them that God loves them too. They won’t forget it.

Leave a Reply

