We All Need Peace

I am sitting down by my pond which is in the woods near my house. It is very peaceful here with the birds singing and sweeping down occasionally to get a drink from the pond. The sound of the pond itself which has a waterfall in which the water flows gently down into the pond is peaceful too. My husband and I made the pond and waterfall years ago, but I have always felt full of peace here. I somehow feel that he is still with me when I am here.

My pond is a far cry from what God has created but I can’t help thinking of the oceans, rivers and mountains he has made. The stars in the night sky are so beautiful, yet we hurry to get the best seats at the fourth of July celebration to look at the fireworks! Many of the thousands of people don’t even look up to see the stars that make up a more majestic scene than fireworks could.

Psalm 77:11& 12 reads this way: I remember your wonderful deeds of long ago. They are constantly in my thoughts. I cannot stop thinking about them. These things bring me peace and the thought that God loves me gives me joy.

I have a picture of a woman sitting on a park bench looking out at a lake with mountains covered with trees on the other side. It is a peaceful picture, but do you know what? You can have that peaceful feeling too. Just think about the scenes you have one day seen or some you have seen in magazines or television and think about God. Or, better yet, get out the Bible and read it! You will find peace there and you will find God’s presence too. Just read Psalms 23 and you can’t help but feel peaceful especially when you read words like this: .the Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He restores me soul. There, don’t you feel better?

Leave a Reply

