The Lady Was A Nurse

It has been a busy weekend for me. On Saturday I went to a Birthday party for a gal who was an Army nurse in world war II. She was 90 years old and the American Legion put on the party. She is also a member, as I am, of the Marshallaires, a singing group of older members. We sang at the party and the birthday girl danced. She taught tap dancing for several years and has never quit. It was a fun party and I would guess there were close to 200 people there. Of course, the Marshallaires have over 50 members so we helped with the attendance!  I am mentioning them because none of us have ever quit singing either and we sound pretty good too!

On Sunday morning I went to Bible class and worship service and at 2;30 I preached and sang at a rehab and nursing home worship service. I really feel for those folks, some of them aren’t very old either, but they can’t get out and do things the way the rest of us can. I do this as often as I can and I enjoy talking with them after the service. They love to talk!

After the service, my son drove me home. The first thing I saw was balloons hanging by the door. As I opened the door the singing of “Happy birthday” could be heard. My family room was decorated from ceiling to floor. Keri, who had to work and Ty who lives in Southern California were the only ones not there, except my son’s family who lives in Rio Rancho, New Mexico. After a prayer. we began eating a barbecued dinner when my son called to wish me a happy birthday. It felt like he was here too! It was a great 88th happy birthday. The only thing missing was the birth of my first great grandchild whose due date was May 18th, the same birthday as mine. My son, who lives in Rio Rancho, will be the proud Grandfather. Oh well, we’ll be happy whenever that little one shows up!

I went to bed tired but happy that night. I thanked God that I was able to do the things I did that weekend. I prayed for my sister-in-law who had a disabling stroke and can’t get around much. I had a stroke a couple of years before hers. but I recovered quite well. I am thankful for that too.

The point I am making on the blog is that there are many older people around. They can still contribute to our society if they are allowed to do so. And many do. Some are visiting angels, some even run for offices. Some work in churches or are volunteers in schools. Some visit Nursing Homes all of them have their place in life. After all, the word Retirement is not in the Bible. Moses was over 80 when he led the children of Israel out of Egypt, so why retire?                      
 

Leave a Reply

