Nothing To Do!

I fell one day last week and my Doctor says I have a concussion. When he gave me his orders I thought I would have nothing to do. I figured it would be nice to have a nothing to do week or two, but I was wrong! I could not watch television. I could not read. I must rest. Well, I’m not used to that so I can’t wait until my Doctor says I’m okay,

I’m reminded of an old cartoon where a little boy was lying on the grass looking at the sky and his father asked him,”What are you doing, Freddie?” “Nothin’,” the boy answered. The father looked shocked.

Parents seem to think  that it’s a real sin for our kids to be doing nothing. They schedule every single minute for them with dancing lessons, Little League, soccer or what have you..and if the kid isn’t doing anything the parent tells them to go play video games or just watch television. Whatever happened to doing nothing?

In an earlier time, if my memory is correct, youngsters could spend hours doing nothing. Sometimes they’d take a fishing pole with them but often they would just lie in the sun dreaming   of whatever kids dream about. Or else they’d walk aimlessly, drinking in the sights, smells and sounds of nature. Kids don’t do much of that any more.

When I was a kid, there were more chores to do after school hours. I remember carrying water from the town pump and taking care of the weeds in the garden. So, when we had an hour or two to ourselves, we did what we wished. That time was precious.

So, today I am celebrating doing nothing and I don’t like it one bit. I think of those folks who can’t do anything at all but sit in their wheel chairs. I must, when my Doctor tells me, go see some of those folks in nursing homes. Want to come along?

Leave a Reply

